Thoughts on Last Night’s 7-5 Loss to NYI

Long time, no see ITC readers! I am sad to say that I got to witness another heartbreaking defeat last night on Long Island after watching the atrocious 6-5 OT loss against Philadelphia just a little over a week ago. I can’t complain on the basis of the two games not being entertaining as I was able to see a total of 23 pucks get past both Dallas and opponent goaltenders in my two games attended.

With that said, I’d like to share with you some thoughts on the game:

  • On two separate occasions this past week, the Stars have lost while scoring 5 goals in each game. That absolutely cannot happen in today’s NHL. You score 5 goals, you win the game. It’s that simple. To coin Razor’s phrase describing a few of the team’s recent games, it was another “leaky” goaltending performance by a Stars netminder.
  • The struggles of backup goaltending continue here in Dallas and while it is tough to perform your best when you have sat the previous five games, you need a better performance out of your back up in those games. It’s not fair to place all of the blame on Lindback, but the Stars must see better out of #29. If not, it might be Rynnas time sooner than later. It will be interesting to see how he rebounds in his next start.
  • I actually thought the forwards played one of their best games tonight. All four lines held onto the puck for much of the game, generated possession, and had some glorious scoring opportunities. I thought the top line played ok but a combined -11 out of the top trio might suggest they were worse than that. However, it’s tough to blame your forward unit when they put up 5 goals.
  • I’m looking forward to Nichushkin’s return to create a more balanced top six attack. I’m actually not opposed to having such a stacked top unit but I think it’s probably in the best interests of this hockey club to have a true dual scoring threat.
  • I know Lindy Ruff liked the play from his group on Friday in New Jersey, but I’m highly questioning his decision to craft such an inexperienced third defensive pairing. I’ve liked Connauton’s play and would rather have a Connauton/Oleksiak or Connauton/Jokipakka bottom pair. You look at the stat line and can see Jokipakka at a -3 and I think it’s safe to say Oleksiak made some very problematic decisions last night.
  • I never thought I’d say this, but I cannot wait to get Sergei Gonchar back in the lineup. I believe it will help to have a veteran, puck moving defenseman on that young third pair.
  • Last thought of the day, Stars and Stars fans shouldn’t dwell on the loss last night. I think it’s a productive trip if you take 2 out of 4 points on road back-to-back sets. I expect you’ll see a much crisper team against St. Louis on Tuesday night.

Feel free to share some of your thoughts from last night.

Leave a comment